15 Minutes through the Lens

Outdoor project. Date taken: 10/8/2010

Location: Downtown Spartanburg, Morgan Square

In this project, we were to choose a spot in the middle of the square to take photographs and choose 5 strongest pieces.

I would have to say urban subject is not to my liking, but I found out there are things I sure can take picture of. Colors, lines, movement, etc all contribute to the nonstop lifestyle of people. (And again I have to put aside one more thing of my displeasure in taking urban pictures: People) XD

Photo 1/5: Up above

I enjoy the pure simplicity of this photograph. All I had to do was laying on the ground and looking at the traffic right behind me. Bull’s eye! I wonder what that white streak on the left was, but I do enjoy the diagonal line that leads to my subject.

Lightroom was used to fill in some lights so more of the traffic light could be seen. The color scheme is…shall I say, solid? =)

 

ISO 100, 47mm, f/7.1, 1/400 sec

 

Photo 2/5: Into the Sunlight

Yup I pointed the camera at the sun :), kind of… Well the focus is apparently not the building but the color relationship between the red light, the street sign and the stop light themselves. I only used Lightroom to push the saturation up a bit. I also kept the lens flare for some interest 🙂

 

ISO 100, 55mm, f/7.1, 1/200 sec

 

Photo 3/5: It’s Approaching!!

I found out that one of the most difficult thing to shoot in bright sun light was to evaluate the exposure through the LCD screen. Most pictures turned out underexposed because of that aspect.

In this photo I wish I could have lied down in the middle of the street and shoot the car for a better effect (but then again I did not want to lose my head XD). And to make up for that I tilted the camera a bit to create tension in the upper third of the photo.

 

ISO 100, 55mm, f/7.1, 1/640 sec

 

Photo 4/5: A Photographer in Action

 

ISO 100, 55mm, f/7.1, 1/400 sec

 

Look! It’s Justin!

In this photo I just wanted to capture the moment someone was so concentrated in his work that he was completely unaware of the surroundings. It would have been nice if there had been people behind him pointing and whispering at him XD. The trees add some perspective and the bottom third allows a space for the viewer to approach the subject 🙂

Photo 5/5: Towering

 

ISO 100, 55mm, f/7.1, 1/500 sec

 

The bell was underexposed so I used fill light to bring out the details. A little vignette to emphasize the focus onto the tower. I enjoy the fact that the subject is not completely centered, yet I am quite disappointed that it was a little too close to the left edge 😦

2 thoughts on “15 Minutes through the Lens

  1. JB

    I agree with Justin’s comment. I think that is your most interesting image. I am pleased that you varied your height while shooting. The traffic light is the weakest, but the concept is something that can be worked with.

Leave a comment